Avril Lavigne – 6th Studio Album

Album Details

  • Album Title: TBD
  • Release Date: Late 2017
  • Label: BMG
  • Writing & Demoing Dates: Fall 2015 - May 2017
  • Recording Dates: May 16, 2017 - Present
  • Status: Began recording vocals in August; also working on 4 additional songs as of late August
  • Singles: TBD; Avril says it may be one she wrote when on verge of death with Lyme disease
  • Possible Song Titles:
    • "Warrior"
    • "Crush"
  • Expected Sound: Back to her roots (country, gospel, jazz); potentially more rock than pop; more lyrically complex, inspired by singer-songwriters like Ed Sheeran
  • Expected Themes: Lyme disease, empowerment, divorce, love
  • Collaborators: J.R. Rotem, Zane Carney, Chad Kroeger, Dan Ellis, Dave Immerman 
Avril Lavigne 6th album BMG

Avril Lavigne released her self-titled 5th album in November 2013. It had several delays, with Avril going back into the studio to record more radio friendly material. By the time she finally did finish recording it, she had a huge number of songs to choose from. It was a similar situation to the Goodbye Lullaby album, in which she also had plenty of leftover tracks. In both cases she said she had enough songs for two albums, and said she would love to release the remaining tracks soon. So far we haven't heard the Goodbye Lullaby leftovers ("Gone," "Candy," "Fine"), and the Avril Lavigne extras also remain to be heard.

Avril Lavigne ended up being half made up of some of Avril's more indie rock, introspective songs, and the other half was more radio friendly pop rock, similar to her earlier albums. Despite the pop songs on the first half of the record, Avril initially seemed to be heading in a new musical direction and had a full album worth of indie rock songs before going back into the studio. Fans would love to hear those songs, and Avril expressed interest in releasing them. Will those ever come out? Or will her 6th album be all new material?

In April 2015, Avril revealed she'd been battling Lyme disease for months. She was left bedridden, but that time gave her a chance to look at her career with a clear point of view. Avril made the negative positive, and out of her year-long illness she got a fresh perspective on what she wants to do with the rest of her career.

Avril says that besides a few singles ("Fly," released in support of the Special Olympics, and another song she wrote about her battle with Lyme disease), her next music projects will be a Christmas album and her sixth studio album. Avril has been writing and recording since fall 2015, with writers like her ex Chad Kroeger and Zane Carney. 

In early 2017, Avril began sharing song lyric hints, suggesting that future songs may be titled "Warrior" or "Crush." On March 1st, she announced that she has signed with BMG. She is nearly done writing, and the next step is to find a producer. This album will go back to her country, jazz, and church roots and will tackle subjects beyond love and breakups. Avril promises to release the album in 2017. The first single will likely be a song she wrote about her Lyme disease. On May 16, 2017, Avril officially began production for the new album. She has not yet revealed who will be producing the record. 

9 thoughts on “Avril Lavigne – 6th Studio Album

  • December 9, 2014 at 5:10 am

    I have her second self titled album with the acoustic version of Rock n Roll which includes Let Me Go with Avril’ s new husband Chad Kroeger who co- wrote the songs except 17, she wrote that by herself.

    • December 9, 2014 at 1:18 pm

      The acoustic version of “Rock N Roll” is great – we have the Target edition of the album too. Chad did co-write a lot of the songs on Avril Lavigne, including our favorite, “Give You What You Like.” He’s a great writer!

      The only songs he didn’t co-write on the album are “Hush Hush” and “Hello Heartache” (both by Avril and David Hodges), “17” (Avril, J Kash, and Martin Johnson), and “Falling Fast” and “You Ain’t Seen Nothin’ Yet” (both written by Avril alone).

      There are a LOT of leftover songs that didn’t make the cut for her record, including many by “the Tripod” of Avril, Chad, and David. Hopefully we can hear those songs someday!

  • October 9, 2015 at 7:51 pm

    Avril has been wearing a cowboy hat pretty frequently in her Instagram shots while in the studio. Makes me wonder if she’s thinking of switching genres. I wouldn’t mind a Country album from her, though, as it is, after all, where she unofficially started her career before being signed to a major label!

  • July 1, 2016 at 11:16 am


  • August 18, 2017 at 11:13 pm

    Avril Lavigne new album I can not wait for. Been a fan since 2002. Sent her a birthday card. Love her music. Rock out on Under my skin all the time it’s my favorite one so far. Thank God she got over lime disease and is alright. Love her forever and evermore. Keep on singing Avril Remora Lavigne you’re my world about life in a woman side of life. Love always Benjamin bjagruhn76@gmail.com


Sound Off!