The All-American Rejects – 5th Studio Album

EP Details

  • EP Title: TBA
  • Release Date: May 2017
  • Recording Dates: April-July 2016; January 2017
  • Status: Finished recording as of February 2017
  • Promo Single: "DGAF"
  • Singles"Sweat" - lyric video due May 1st
  • Other Known Songs: Song with lyrics "running from my demon," song with lyrics "straight to heaven," song with lyrics "that's when I know"
  • Expected Sound: Fun
  • Collaborators: Benny Cassette (producer)
the all-american rejects new ep

The All-American Rejects' last album came out in March 2012. Kids In The Street showed a slightly different sound for the band, but it was a great fit. The songs were more mature, more reflective, and more revealing. The whole record was amazing, and possibly their best release yet. And it certainly deserved more attention than it ended up getting.

The band released their singles and went on tour, and by early 2013, they were ready for a little break. They focused on other things for a while. Signer Tyson Ritter got engaged that April, and was married by New Year's Day.

Finally, in mid 2014, The All-American Rejects were refreshed and ready to get back to the music again. They played some shows here and there around the summer time, but were already thinking about recording their next album. In spite of plans to record an album that fall, the band evidently did not enter the studio. In 2015 they released on new song, "There's A Place," for the drama film Miss You Already (in which Tyson Ritter appears). In spring 2016 The All-American Rejects officially began working on new music, with Benny Cassette producing. The band premiered their new single, "DGAF," live in San Diego on July 21st; though the band had plans to release a music video, we still have not seen that or the studio version of "DGAF."

In summer 2016, The All-American Rejects revealed that they were not releasing a full album. Instead, they said a 5-6 song EP would be out in 2017. In January 2017, they entered the studio to record 3 or 4 more songs. In February and March, Tyson shared short previews of 4 of the new songs on Snapchat. He also shared some lyrics on Twitter. 

Tyson announced that the EP will be out at some point in May. The first single, "Sweat," will have a lyric video out on May 1st. The EP will likely follow shortly after that. 

4 thoughts on “The All-American Rejects – 5th Studio Album

  • January 30, 2015 at 12:27 pm

    cannot wait for this new album. AAR has been my favorite band for 13 years and each time the waiting kills me!

  • January 23, 2017 at 10:10 pm

    update this they are officially in the studio per twitter, snapchat, and instagram even heard clips of some new songs!

    • January 31, 2017 at 9:20 pm

      Yes, excited that they’re back in the studio! We are planning to make some significant changes to this page (and the other “making the album” pages), so look out for that in the next couple of weeks. 🙂

      • March 30, 2017 at 9:01 pm


Sound Off!

%d bloggers like this: