Sara Bareilles – 5th Studio Album

Spread the love

Album Details

  • Album Title: TBA
  • Release Date: Late 2018
  • Label: Epic
  • Recording Dates: June 2018 - Present
  • Status: Still writing; to begin recording in late June
  • Lead Single: TBA
  • Expected Sound: "Broken, but it has heart"
  • Expected Themes: Politics, social issues, personal struggles, empowerment, relationships
  • Songwriters: Sara Bareilles
Sara Bareilles - Instagram - 6.22

It's been four years since Sara Bareilles released her last studio album, The Blessed Unrest. It was an impressive album that found her exploring uncharted territory (no pun intended), as she incorporated electronics more than she ever had before. However, she didn't stray too far from the confessional singer-songwriter pop songs that she was known for. Her perfect blend of familiar and new led The Blessed Unrest to be nominated for the Grammys' Album of the Year award.

In 2015, Sara Bareilles composed all the music for a new musical, Waitress, based on a 2007 indie movie of the same name. The musical made it to Broadway in spring 2016, with Jessie Mueller starring as Jenna. In November 2015, Sara released What’s Inside: Songs From Waitress, an album made up of some of those songs. She released "She Used To Be Mine" as its single, along with a theater-inspired music video.

That same year, Sara also published her first book, an autobiography called Sounds Like Me: My Life (So Far) In Song. It’s a must-read that gives some insight into Sara's life, from her childhood to her writing her first musical.

Early in 2017, Sara revealed that her record label was pushing for that followup to The Blessed Unrest, since musical albums don't really count. She stated that her focus was writing new songs. She did took to star as Jenna in Waitress in spring 2017 - and again in early 2018 - and composed a song for the SpongeBob Square Pants musical. In spring 2018, Sara performed as Mary Magdalene in NBC's Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert, hosted the Tony Awards in June, and received an award from the Songwriters Hall of Fame that same month.

In November 2017, Sara revealed on Instagram live chat that she had some "pretty slick songs" ready for her next album. She promised it would be out in 2018. She is set to begin recording in late June. On June 22nd, she shared an Instagram post explaining the themes of her forthcoming music.

Spread the love